MoneySavingMom.com
FREEBIE LIBRARY!
Join my email list and get FREE ACCESS to the MSM Freebie Library, including my top printables & eBooks.

My Completely Honest Review of Our Experience With KiwiCo (plus get 30% off your first box!)

(Note: The links in this post are affiliate links, and we will be compensated when you make a purchase by clicking through our links. Read our disclosure policy here.)

Interested in trying KiwiCo for your kids? This completely honest review is SO helpful!

A few weeks ago, I posted about a sample box that KiwiCo was offering. I’d heard a lot about KiwiCo before, but I’d never signed up for it.

KiwiCo is a monthly subscription service that offers kid’s educational projects, crafts, and activities on different themes. You can get a subscription for as low as $16.95 per month for the box — including shipping. This box will include 2-3 projects, all the materials to complete those projects, plus hands-on learning activities and more.

They offer monthly crate subscriptions for various ages: Cricket Crate is for ages 0-3Koala Crate is for ages 3-4, Kiwi Crate is for ages 4-8, Tinker Crate is for ages 9-16+, and Doodle Crate is for ages 14+.

Since the KiwiCo sample box was only $3.95 and a friend had highly recommended it, I went ahead and posted about it and signed up for a box. {Please note: The Glowworm Sample Box offer is currently not available.}

My Completely Honest Review of Kiwi Crate

We got the box within two weeks and I was very, very impressed with what we got for $3.95 (that price included shipping, too!)

The kit came with:

  • All the materials to build your very own glowworm
  • Set of fabric markers to decorate your snuggly friend
  • One-of-a-kind glow in the dark sock
  • Bonus firefly foldout project with set of glow sticks
  • 16 page explore! magazine filled with puzzles, DIY activities and kid-friendly recipes

My Completely Honest Review of Kiwi Crate

The instructions to complete the craft were very detailed and organized. For a non-crafter like me, this was especially helpful!

My Completely Honest Review of Kiwi Crate

Silas has an absolute blast working with me to create his glowworm.

My Completely Honest Review of Kiwi Crate

I loved seeing his focus and determination!

My Completely Honest Review of Kiwi Crate

He decided to name his glowworm “Billy Butler”, after one of his favorite Royal’s baseball players. 🙂

My Completely Honest Review of Kiwi Crate

While he worked on his glowworm, I read to him from the accompanying book.

My Completely Honest Review of Kiwi Crate

I thought there was a lot of value in this booklet. Not only were there short stories, a poem, a number of activity pages, but there were also some fun additional related projects.

My Completely Honest Review of Kiwi Crate

They gave you instructions on how to make your own FireFly Paint Jar — which looked cool.

My Completely Honest Review of Kiwi Crate

There were also pages you could cut out to make a Glow-in-the-Dark FireFly using the patterns and the glow sticks they gave you in the kit.

My Completely Honest Review of Kiwi Crate

Silas got to practice his cutting skills on this project!

Screen Shot 2014-10-05 at 2.45.12 AM

After he finished his FireFly, he went back to decorating “Billy Butler.” 🙂

He was so proud of his finished product — and especially excited that it actually glowed in the dark when he took it into a dark room. He asked if he could sleep with it tonight before he went to bed.

Want to save 30% off your first KiwiCo box?

You can get 30% off your first month of KiwiCo as a MoneySavingMom.com reader when you shop through this link.

Note: Since a subscription is rather expensive, this also might be a great gift idea to pass along to Grandma & Grandpa for Christmas this year. I love that it’s mostly consummable, very educational, hands-on, and a gift that would keep giving all year long!

Have you tried KiwiCo before? If so, what was your experience?


Subscribe for free email updates from Money Saving Mom® and get my Guide to Freezer Cooking for free!

145 Comments

  • Jeremy says:

    Thank you for doing this.

  • sandra slater says:

    Is it just me, or do others feel that the “age range 5-8” is too much? I would like to see a 5-6 range; a 7-8 range because there really is a BIG difference between 5 year old’s interests and a 7 or 8 yer old’s interest.

    • Melissa says:

      Agreed! Also, why is their site lacking a Contact Us or Review section? My child and I are working on our first Kiwi Crate box and the directions are absolutely terrible!

    • Darlene Irvin says:

      Absolutely. How much of the project can a kindergartner handle?

  • Andrea Montano says:

    I am having a nightmare right now with tinkercrate and doodlecrate customer service. 3 months of getting crated and 3 months of issue. Every month an excuse and there customer service is awful. Ive emailed and asked for a phone call or a supervisor or just for someone to actually read the emails and to no avail. UGH!!! Just thought I’d share in case anyone else is thinking of trying.

    • Kristyn says:

      Have you found a phone number for customer service yet by chance? I’d like to contact them via phone, but can’t find the phone number anywhere on their site, facebook, etc.

    • Nana Jeanne says:

      I like the kits very much. My granddaughter age 4 and grandson age 6 like them a lot. However, they are NOT able to work on the kits by themselves.
      But we enjoy doing them together.
      Since my grandkids were visiting for the summer I ordered the age appropriate kits for 3 months.
      For some reason my 3 month subscriptions were renewed and I began getting more kits that I did not subscribe to. Also having trouble getting a response from customer service.
      Thanks, Annella for posting the phone number. I’ll try that route.

      • Susie Warren says:

        Same thing happened to me. I ordered for my grandchildren for Christmas a three month gift and it was automatically renewed as well. They said they can’t cancel mid subscription I’d have to wait till the end of may. I will not be recommending this to anyone. I’m a teacher who has recommended for my students.

  • Beth JK says:

    I’ve usually had pretty good response from their customer service. I tend to buy year-long subscriptions and just request that it be a “gift subscription” that doesn’t renew. I’m used to subscriptions being a little wonky on a monthly basis and I hate dealing with them. Not to mention, of course, that year-long is usually a much better deal.

    My family has two kids and two subscriptions, which has also made things a little odd where we have accidentally gotten two kiwi crates instead of one kiwi and one koala (the 3-4 yr box that we have ordered). However, they have always fixed the issue and allowed us to keep the accidental box, which is good, since kids rip into the boxes as soon as they see them.

    In general, I recommend the company and the boxes. We’ve always loved them and found them highly worth the price. Customer service isn’t perfect, but it is equal or better than the average subscription customer service that I’ve seen in other companies.

  • Kiwimom says:

    If I order both of my children a tinker crate will they get the exact same thing each month in their boxes?

    • Becca says:

      Absolutely not! We have three year old twins. We have two subscriptions. The girls received this as a Christmas present. December = two different boxes. I emailed to tell them that this wouldn’t work because you can’t tell two three year olds that they each can’t have the same thing. They promised they would try and send the same two boxes for January. January = two different boxes. I contacted customer service and they said that their business model cannot guarantee that the same two boxes be sent. They asked if I would wait until February to see if they could manage to send the same two boxes. February = two different boxes. Customer service said that there was nothing they could do and they cancelled our subscription. It’s all too bad because its a high quality product. Their business model cannot accommodate two children of the same age in the same house.

      • Dr. Shannon says:

        Thanks for the review. I’m a mom with 12 year old twin daughters & would love to subscribe to this product. I would purchase a 9-16 year old doodle & a 5-8 year old for my younger twin. She’s mild autistic so I feel she would understand the younger version better. After reading the reviews, have decided to wait before subscribing. I would be furious if I ran into customer service issues & I’m spending my money.

        • Mary Wolfe says:

          I just ordered my first crate for my 9 year old grandson. I am doing the monthly subscription. I hope it works out.

    • Valerie Slifer says:

      Yes, unless you choose different crates.

  • Stephanie Eakins says:

    I have been sending Kiwi crate to my niece (who just turned 8 in August) off and on since last Christmas. She LOVES it so I just ordered her a 12 month subscription for her Christmas present this year.
    I liked having the option to pick and choose when I sent them to her and I fortunately never had any issues (as long as I went into my account prior to the due date).
    I also like having the option to pick and choose between the crates since she is getting closer to 9.

  • Carol Tedford says:

    I got my 3 kids the crates Kiwi Crate, Doodle Crate and Tinker Crate for Crristmas from my dad for 3 months…seriously now hoping I don’t regret it with the cancellation problem you posted about!! I ordered them this morning!

  • Do you have a Kiwi Crate in Canada?

  • Susan Moon says:

    I am currently having a problem with Koala Crate customer service via email. It is as if the response is computer generated, because none of my questions seem to be answered with virtually anything but, “Are you wanting to purchase another 12 months?” Which is completely unclear communication given the simple questions I had. I am trying to renew a subscription that briefly lapsed due to my credit card expiring. I updated my credit card info as I was instructed to do when I received notification. While my profile says the account is active now, my child has not received any new crates. I merely have a few simple questions about nature of the subscription before answering yes to the robo-question. We really love the product; the activities are so hands on and my child has a something cute and useful to show for his work each time. I am surprised the genius of the product does not carry over to company practices.

  • NG says:

    Pretty terrible service. Charged me without shipping a crate. No phone number for service. When I contacted them through email, they offered no apology or explanation for the delay in shipping other than they’re trying to catch up on holiday shipping. Seems to me, you take a box off the shelf and slap a label on it. Not hard and shouldn’t take days and days AFTER a customer has already been charged. They offered no gesture of goodwill and made no attempt whatsoever to solve the problem. My guess is, they didn’t actually have any crates available to ship. Finally, I had to cancel my order entirely. Extremely disappointed. Don’t do it.

  • Carol says:

    I agree with all the negative responses regarding Kiwi Crate! I’ve experienced cancellation problems for the past 3 months. I ordered the crate because I thought I was getting a special deal through Family Fun Magazine (November 2916). I got no special discount and my credit card was charged $19.95 for one crate. I cancelled following their website’s instructions in November. I was charged another $19.95 in December so once again I cancelled using their website. Each time I received an email saying it was cancelled. Then again on January 3 I was charged again! Supposedly another crate is on it’s way. I have now spent $60.00 on 3 of their crates! Highway robbery! I finally called their so-called “customer service” and was treated to a completely unapologetic response. I won’t bore you with his bizarre explanation of what happened but according to him it was all my fault! I’m thinking of contacting the Better Business Bureau about this company. I don’t know how to get them to stop using my credit card info.

    • Missy says:

      I am thinking that the way to avoid (although you shouldn’t have to) being charged for additional months, is to do it as a gift sub, then “it says” it won’t auto renew. I don’t know that they follow that either, because I just purchased mine, hopefully they do as they say!

    • Isla Laslow says:

      Call your credit card company and tell them you are being charged without your permission. Talk to the people in FRAUD.

  • Suzanne says:

    I have had trouble with them as well. I ordered 7 of my 16 grandchildren crates for Christmas when they offered a Black Friday sale on November 25, 2016, supposedly for $7.95. they said I ordered off the wrong page of their website and charged me $12.95/crate. Then they did not send the correct crates after we had gone back and forth with getting my order correct (that continues to be a problem as 2 crates are still not what I ordered) all crates were shipped in one box, fine no big deal, but it was addressed to one of the children not to me so I thought it was one gift. A week later when the other crates had not arrived I thought I better open it and see, that is when I discovered the others where in there. AND they were ALL the wrong crates! They said I could keep those crates and re gift them and that they would rush ship the correct ones (this was now December 18th) when I asked them for a tracking number they said they didn’t get one, I thought it was due to Chrstmas and Rush shipping, so ok, I will give them that. Well, to make a long story shorter 😊 we had to go shopping on Christmas eve for 5 grandchildren! They did resend the order, which Arrived the first week in January…..but 2 were not what I ordered nor were the books in the order that went with 2 different crates!!! I will never order from them again, unfortunately, as one of my granddaughters really enjoyed her crate. I do want to say they mailed the 2 out of state crates in a timely manner and they were correct!

  • Missy says:

    I am currently having several issues.
    1. I tried ordering 6 subscriptions with “30% off your order if you signed up for the news letter” What that really means is 30% off the first month of each subscription, not the total.
    2. My order only went through for 1 subscription but was charged for 4 subscriptions without any discount. Sent them an e-mail, and they replied that they had given me credits for the charged subscriptions that didn’t actually go through and when I go back and reorder the others( yay get to enter all that info again) it will automatically give me the credits toward the purchase- great! A pain, but ok it will all work out in the wash, right??
    3. I replace the orders and it only subtracts $60.00 off of my credit balance. I have informed them that I want that credited back to my credit card (because if this is going to be like this every time, no matter how great this is, I won’t be ordering them again! So I am currently waiting for them to resolve this problem. I also don’t like that I can’t call them with issues. This is too bad because I have heard they are great and I think it is a cool idea!

  • Carole Melton says:

    I too am having trouble with customer service I can’t get them to cancel my subscription nor cancel the automatic renewal clause !! I’m now out over $240+! Credit card company has offered to block the company but with so many names I hope it can be done!
    I called to Mountain View CA and had to leave a message as all operators are busy!!! BS they don’t want to talk with anyone! Notifying Better Business Bureau & CA attorney Generals office! USPO for mail fraud as well!

  • Joanna says:

    I just ordered a 6 month subscription, and there was the option to do it as a gift. If you choose the gift option, they charge your card one time instead of ongoing. After reading your review, I’m glad I checked the gift option, even though it’s being sent to my house for my daughters.

    We have already received our first box, and it was a total hit at our house. (We ordered Tinker Crate which is for older kids). I thought my 10yo would be the most interested, but it was actually my 14yo who was excited about putting it together.

  • susan says:

    JUST CALL your credit card and tell them that you cancelled your order they will give you an instant credit…keep proof of your attempted contact with the company.

  • Heather says:

    I have a gift subscription for a 10 year old friend. We ordered him a 12 month subscription of the tinker crate. His first crate arrived and he loved it. It wasnt until 1.5 months later that we received the second crate. It is now more than a month later and the third crate hasn’t arrived. The problem is now my friend asks daily if I know where his crate is. This is a bad business model. It shows children irresponsibility. I have contacted customer service and they claim that it is my fault for ordering at the time I ordered. But I ordered 2 months before the first crate arrived. One would think they could send them in a timely manner. I tried cancelling and getting a refund so that I could get my friend something more dependable but they refuse to cancel my subscription.

  • Leslie Shafer says:

    All of these comments are so disappointing! I was going to order this for my son for his 12th birthday. NOPE! Not now. I don’t need this kind of hassle!
    Thank you all for the heads up!

  • Rachelle says:

    We are new customers and received an incomplete product our first shipment. My son was very sad. It took 2 business days to receive a response (no phone # to call for problems). And won’t have the part 10 days after the receipt of the initial package. I find this quite unacceptable this day and age, when there are too many companies with more responsive customer service.

    I will try Little Passports.

  • Betty-Kay says:

    I ordered the Tinker Crate today for my son. I was a bit distracted and accidentally ordered TWO 1 year subscriptions, which cost a little of $400. Oopppsssss I emailed customer service immediately. They responded the same day and canceled my order and voided the charge. We haven’t gotten our first crate yet, but I was very happy with their response in the same day.

  • Patsy says:

    I am so glad that I did this research before ordering the Koala Crate for my grand daughter! I certainly don’t need the kind of hassle that others have experienced. Such a shame, because it is a fantastic idea, and one which I know my grand daughter would enjoy.

  • Wendy says:

    We received kiwi and koala crates as a gift. We loved it so much we purchased a whole year for both our kids in advance. First they sent the crates separately so 1 kid was always disappointed and had to wait. After several phone calls, emails and becoming extremely frustrated they finally figured out how to send them in one box to arrive at the same time. At the time they also sent me a preview email telling me what was coming. I loved this because as a homeschool family I could plan curriculum around the crates. For some reason we no longer receive these emails. After a few months I began having problems with receiving our crates again. They would send an email saying it was coming on a certain day. Over a 2 week period that day was pushed back 3-4 times. Now instead of telling my kids when they are coming I let it be a surprise. Overall the product is great. We love what we receive, it’s getting it and dealing with customer service that’s a complete nightmare. Because of the headache and heartbreak I doubt we’ll renew for another year.

  • Tamanna says:

    I cannot thank you enough for this. i am so glad i did my research before ordering anything from them.

    • Loree CLAPHAM says:

      I have done 12mo sub for the Loot Crate for my 13yr old nephew and Doodle Crate for my 10yr old niece for the past 2 xmas’s. They LOVE their crates! My brother dreads due dates because they get so excited when the crates are due it drives him crazy! This xmas season, while my niece was trying to convince my sister to get her a hoverboard and my nephew wanted something electronic, Ipiped in and asked what they wanted for xmas from Aunt Loree(me). Without missing a beat they both yelled “Crates”. Boom. Xmas shopping done! Seriously, I am a Pediatric RN and all I heard from my little guys was “Loot crate this and Loot crate that” so i decided to try it-afterall, what a genus idea! What kid doesnt like getting packages in the mail, especially if the package is something you absolutely love-for my niece, who is a little artist, the Doodle Crate is perfect! She gets all the supplies to make a really quality project with enough extra to come up with her own “projects”. And I win because they call me to tell me what they got in that months crates and i get to hear the excitement in their voices. I, too, hate to hear about others negative issues with the service, but I honestly think they could send a crate full of homework and the kids would make something out of it! And when I figure that I spend less than $200 each for the crates and I know I would spend so much more on them AND they wouldn’t get a monthly surprise, then its really a win-win for the kids and for me! I do know, however, that there are TONS of companies doing subscription crates now. Maybe, if you are leary of this company, you could find something else your little bug would enjoy with better reviews. I have had zero issues with either crate service so as long as they want crates and I dont have to try to outdo my sister on gift ideas (this one made ME the favorite Aunt for the past 2 years lol) then a couple sub crates will be delivered to them monthly. (They even have crates for kids in College!) But really, Google Subscription Crates and have fun. There are crates for pregnant moms to family pets to newborn to the hunter to the cook, it never ends. Good luck!

  • Julia Hancock says:

    May I suggest magic School bus experiment science kit subscription. It’s awesome. About 7 experiments in each kit. Most materials needed are provided (ie. Even salt and sand). We all know they match a video or two as well that are easily found on YouTube or library. Email beforehand with printable certificate and online extras. Some experiments are easy some are cool… best for ages 5-8 . It’s wonderful and I had found a half price deal somewhere so it can be gotten for $110 instead of $220. Go for it. We homeschooled with it.

  • Nancy says:

    Sure wish I read the reviews prior to ordering 2 Subscriptions! The first grandchild had no problems! The second subscription in all honesty was ordered incorrectly by me! Thought it was a simple fix. Awesome customer service first call. Now 3+ weeks in to this the Crate which supposedly has been expedited twice (mind you I was chargedright away) they just never bothered to ship!!! Now I’m told the reason there was a week delay in the shipping the second time was because they moved their wharehouse! Unsure how that became my problem! He must have been aware of that fact when I was told a week ago would go out & be expedited with 2-5 day delivery! Tomorrow will be day 8 STILL NO CRATE! I have now called 6 seperate times to reach people that give great lip service just no follow through!!! The two subscriptions were MY LAST!!!!

  • Yolanda Mamacita says:

    All these complaints about the company refusing to cancel their subscriptions. Is there anyone here that knows how to call their bank or credit card company, explain they’ve repeatedly asked the company to cease, and request a stop payment? I know it works. I’ve used it a few times in the past, once against a household company that did this very same thing! I agree the company should so as promised, but they don’t, so take a little initiative yourselves! Also, yes, I’d do a BBB report. Companies don’t like bad reports, well, reputable companies don’t, anyway.

  • Anne N. says:

    I read your review prior to signing up with them. I knew to make sure I canceled in the time frame, and I even received an email confirming my cancellation (6 weeks ago). But they charged me for another 3 month subscription! I don’t recommend this company to anyone. Sadly because they have some nice productions, but this hassle isn’t worth it.

  • Rachelle Unruh says:

    I ordered a 12 month subscription for my boys to share in Canada. The first crate took a month to get here but they do warn on the website that international orders can take longer and can get stuck in customs. My boys LOVED their first Tinker Crate and can hardly wait to get the next one. However, they sent me an e-mail on May 3rd saying their May crate had shipped but we haven’t had any updates since then. They estimate that we should receive it today but, according to the USPS tracking number, they have only sent in pre-shipment info and the crate hasn’t even left the warehouse yet. I called customer service (1-800-714-4828) and spoke to a representative. She apologized profusely and was very easy to deal with. She said she would send an e-mail with my order info to the warehouse and to her manager to be sure that this issue gets dealt with. Apparently they have been having a lot of issues with shipments going to Canada. She said to expect an e-mail with a new tracking # and to expect our next crate next week. Hopefully she follows through!

  • Shelley says:

    I saw this company’s ad on Facebook and was very excited until I read these reviews. Being the sort of person who needs to judge first hand, I called them. I called the number provided by another reviewer. I just ordered the 6 month gift subscription for the 9-16+ crates for my son’s 35th birthday. I got a very delightful and helpful customer service person. She explained the somewhat confusing subscription program to me and it made sense to order the non- renewing gift subscription. I must say that this was one of the easiest, pleasantist, and most helpful customer service experiences I’ve had in a long time. I just ordered the 6 month gift subscription for my son’s 35th birthday. I am hoping that the follow through is as good as the customer service was.

  • Gramma Anna says:

    I appreciate you doing this. I saw the posting on Facebook and i wanted to hear other comments and saw your article. I like the idea of the boxes especially since my daughter will be homeschooling her two young kids ( my grand-babies 🙂 ) I think this will be fun and i don’t think i would be cancelling anytime soon so i can give it a shot. I like that your kids enjoyed it and can’t wait to hear what new things my grand-babies have made. I will keep you posted.

  • Katrina says:

    It’s so sad reading all of these comments. My son received a 12 month subscription for Christmas and we have had zero issues! He’s always excited when the box shows up and immediately starts in on his project.

  • Belinda Manning says:

    I ordered this as a gift for my grandson. I paid for expedited shipping and checked the box for the first shipment to be sent to my home. Luckily…or maybe not…my husband suggested I do the 3months to try before committing to the year. I just received notice that the box has shipped. This places delivery outside the date for “estimated delivery”. Additionally there will be no one at their residence to receive it because they will be here until the end of August. Unfortunately, I should have read comments on other sites, rather than just reviews. I am terribly disappointed and sad because this seemed like such a good idea…a great product and would solve a huge gift giving challenge. If it worked. I am not willing to deal with customer service issues on a continuing basis though. It’s just not acceptable.

    • Meg says:

      Oh no! I’m so sorry that happened! -Meg, MSM Team

      • Belinda Manning says:

        This morning I received a response from Kiwi Co. …Tinker Crate. Before I post their response, I must say that it is ALWAYS highly possible that I did not check appropriate boxes and I will own that. I am, however, thankful that no matter who was in err, this company will not allow for a little boy (really somewhere between little boy and young man); and his grandmom to be disappointed on his birthday. For me, that is what matters here and says a lot about who this
        company is. I will contact them and work out the financial aspects to ensure that the scales are balanced contractually; but the “heart of the matter” is resolved. For me, that is the most important part of this relationship because next to my children, their children are the most important things to me. I think this gift will light up his world. I’m looking forward to it. I’ll let you know.

        Here is the company response:

        “Hi Belinda,

        Thank you for reaching out to Tinker Crate – we’re so sorry to hear about this issue!

        Unfortunately, the 3-month subscription for Alexander did not come through with the “first crate to me” designation. We also show free shipping, so the first crate was not expedited. So the first crate (Spin Art Machine) is currently on the way to Cherry Hill.

        I will have a replacement crate (Planetarium) shipped out to your billing address via expedited mail. This replacement will ship out early next week via 2-day shipping. Then, subsequent crates will ship directly to Alexander at the beginning of September and beginning of October.

        We do hope that this subscription is a hit! Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make this right!”

        Thanks Kiwi Co.!

      • Belinda Manning says:

        This morning I received a response from Kiwi Co. …Tinker Crate. Before I post their response, I must say that it is ALWAYS highly possible that I did not check appropriate boxes and I will own that. I am, however, thankful that no matter who was in err, this company will not allow for a little boy (really somewhere between little boy and young man); and his grandmom to be disappointed on his birthday. For me, that is what matters here and says a lot about who this company is. I will contact them and work out the financial aspects to ensure that the scales are balanced contractually; but the “heart of the matter” is resolved. For me, that is the most important part of this relationship because next to my children, their children are the most important things to me. I think this gift will light up his world. I’m looking forward to it. I’ll let you know.

        “Hi Belinda,

        Thank you for reaching out to Tinker Crate – we’re so sorry to hear about this issue!

        Unfortunately, the 3-month subscription for Alexander did not come through with the “first crate to me” designation. We also show free shipping, so the first crate was not expedited. So the first crate (Spin Art Machine) is currently on the way to Cherry Hill.

        I will have a replacement crate (Planetarium) shipped out to your billing address via expedited mail. This replacement will ship out early next week via 2-day shipping. Then, subsequent crates will ship directly to Alexander at the beginning of September and beginning of October.

        We do hope that this subscription is a hit! Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make this right!”

  • Jo Anne says:

    I have 2 grandchildren ages 9 and 10. If I order them both Tinker Crate, will they receive the same projects each delivery?

  • Camille R. says:

    My son loves the Tinker Crates. We started receiving the kits in August and they have been a huge hit. My son loves reading all the information and putting the projects together. He is learning so much. We have had great experience with customer service. One of the boxes we received were damaged from the rain. I emailed the company and they shipped out a new one within a few days. Overall we love it 🙂

  • Elizabeth Dameron-Drew says:

    Beware. When you order a subscription for a set number of months it’s not actually just for that time. It is set to auto-renew and will keep charging your card beyond that time. Those terms are not clear.

    • Nana Jeanne says:

      This is exactly what happened to me. Can’t believe I missed where they said auto renew, must have been very SMALL print. I’ve been trying to cancel the auto renew boxes for months. Will contact my credit card company next.

  • W says:

    Don’t waste your time and $. We have received a kiwi crate and koala crate for 2 years. We just cancelled. The product is great the customer service is TERRIBLE!!!!!!. Every year they are supposed to send them together and every year it’s a fight. My kids look forward to them and when one gets it and the other doesn’t the one who didn’t receive a crate is hurt and upset. I call customer service, I get upset, and it takes several months for them to get it right. I’m done. I’ve cancelled. I’m going to buy them an art project or STEM project once a month instead. It’s not worth the heartache. Just avoid them altogether.

  • Alyson says:

    Totally agree with others here- THANK YOU FOR THESE REVIEWS! I was at the checkout and realized I couldn’t choose which Tinker Crate to order for my nephew- I know which ones he would want and which ones he would not. I was under the impression if you buy a 1 month gift, you get to choose the crate, but it didn’t seem like that was going to happen in the checkout process so I googled it how to choose it and arrived here. Definitely not completing checkout and not ordering from this company, but very disappointed about it. I really thought this would be a great gift. I also hate that they advertise promotions and discounts that mysteriously do not get applied to the cart. Sign up for email and get 30% off. Nope. Enter this code for a discount on your first order. Nope. Click here for 50% off your single month subscription. Nope. Place your order. NOPE!

  • Matthew says:

    It’s amazing how a positive post by the author can turn into such an onslaught of negativity. We have 10 year old twins (girl and boy) that get Doodle Crate and Tinker Crate. The projects are well designed and executed and my twins seem to have no issues doing the activities. We have never had a problem with shipping or had a need to contact customer service. My daughter seems to enjoy her Doodle Crate projects more than my son enjoys the Tinker Crates. She’ll do her project the day it arrives, he usually waits for a rainy day or until we remind him about it. Overall, it’s a unique way to give a gift once a month. All that to say, maybe you can try a 3 month subscription, and if not happy, then stop.

    • Grammy says:

      Matthew,
      Perhaps the “onslaught of negativity” is because generous readers wanted to alert others to the substantial problems with customer service.
      You shouldn’t be surprised since discussion boards are designed for sharing information.

  • Darcy Ballentine says:

    Thought this was great, but now, not so much. Steer clear unless you want to commit. I tried their one month subscription for my two sons and four nieces and nephews. We all loved the kits, but I don’t think they are worth $20. I would consider a subscription for half that cost until I’ve had to deal with their customer service. I signed up for gift subscriptions and one month subscriptions for all children. Now I find out I’m signed up for 6 year long subscriptions and cannot get a refund since I didn’t call within 2 days of the boxes being shipped. That was on the 15th. My account wasn’t charged until the 23rd. There’s no way I would have been able to cancel within their time frame since I had signed up for one month subscriptions I didn’t look at my account page. They also say gift subscriptions are not renewable, but that is not true. All four of my gift subscriptions have renewed. I tried cancelling my subscriptions online. I had to select cancel 6 times for each account before the account cancelled. I’ve also tried emailing and calling, which took 20 mins to speak to someone. The customer service rep was nice but was unable to resolve my issue. When I asked to speak to a manager she said there weren’t any supervisors on the floor until this afternoon but would take my phone number and someone would call me back within 24 hours.

  • Mel says:

    I’m glad I read the comments but disappointed also. I was hoping to hear RAVING comments about how awesome the kits were…and it seems the kits aren’t the issue it’s customer service and billing! I definitely do not want to get swept into this, thank you all for posting your issues! It’s too bad because I even had my card out and was ready to order!

  • lucia johnson says:

    customer service is terrible!!! we joined last year and by no means made an annual commitment to the company (although there was apparently some well hidden agreement in the wording when we made the initial purchase, this was admitted by phone call with customer no service). they had $400 on hold for 5 days, then it cleared and now we wait to get the refund. all of this happened despite the fact that we changed our debit card that used to make the purchase!!!!! completely shady process, never again!

  • I took two 3 months subscriptions for my grands. Every aspect of my order was messed up. The first box was to come to me but it went to them. They were nice and sent a bonus box for each that I could give them for Christmas; only one arrived in time. Now, 3 months later I got a charge on my cc from them. When I contacted them, they said it was auto renew! I did not sign up for that and can only guess it was hidden in the fine print of the 3 month package. Even so, they never sent a receipt when they charged the card, I only found out from my credit card company. The product was a good idea but this company is a nightmare!

  • Alene Johnston says:

    My daughter received her first box from kiwi and she’s 10 she was upset with it she thought it was juvenile. She said it was more for little kids. I sent an email to the company and they responded that they will change her order for further shipping to a more mature content. Maybe a different create instead of kiwi.

  • Barbara Urban says:

    I was going to place an order but since the majority of the comments are negative I won’t take the chance on Kiwico. It’s a shame because my grandson and granddaughter would love these crates.

  • Stewart says:

    Yesterday (April 23rd) I purchased a 6 month GIFT order to myself because I’m always wary of renewal subscriptions. I want to believe that these companies would make more money if they didn’t have automatic renewal subscriptions.

    I’m concerned that, after reading a comment above, even gift orders are being renewed. I thought that a gift order was not renewed. If that is indeed the case then I am severely disappointed and will leave a bad review on this site, cancel my order with their company, call my credit company regarding fraudulent charges (because that’s what it is), and will leave a negative BBB company review.

    I’d like to purchase this as a gift for several other family members but will refuse to do so if I have ANY problems managing my money.

    • Cat says:

      Can you let us know how it went? I’m thinking about ordering but I want to know if gift orders are being renewed.

  • Anita F Brant says:

    I ordered 3-month subscription for 2 grandsons at Christmas. They continued to get more crates and I was getting charged every month. I tried e-mailing to rectify the situation. I can see the sent e-mails !!They say they did not receive any e-mails. It took me about an hour today to find the 800 number to talk to a live person to cancel my order. Of course, I won’t get back any of the money. BEWARE even though I thought I was ordering for 3 months only, there was some sort of automatic reordering !!! Just disgusted. Won’t order again from this company.

  • Shirley Looney says:

    I didn’t see the option for 9-16

  • Cyndi Raymond says:

    I just ordered 2 sets for my grandsons and hope to NOT have any problems with this company. I am cautious because of the negative comments but will try this to see for myself. I own large childcare center and whether I refer this to many others will depend on the product and customer service. I am hoping this works well so I can write a positive review.

  • Grandma Jo says:

    For 3 years, we have ordered Kiwi boxes for our grandchildren to share.
    They love the boxes and have learned to share responsibility and “fun” activities, as well as scientific principles.
    I have never had a negative issue with customer service.
    The boxes come to me about a month apart, I pay for them once a year, and I will continue to make this expenditure for many more years.
    I believe the benefits of the boxes to the children outweigh any potential hassles with the company.
    My advice is to order as a gift for a year. The children will love them and benefit, and with a year’s subscription there seem to be fewer problems.

Money Saving Mom® Comment Policy

We love comments from readers, so chime in with your thoughts below! We do our best to keep this blog upbeat and encouraging, so please keep your comments cordial and kind. Read more information on our comment policy.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *