- Money Saving Mom® - http://moneysavingmom.com -

Do-It-Yourself Experiment #6: Homemade Strawberry Freezer Jam

Posted By Crystal Paine On July 22, 2011 @ 6:41 pm In Uncategorized | Comments Disabled

I made Strawberry Freezer Jam [1] earlier this week as part of my 2011 Do-It-Yourself Experiments [2]. And of all the projects I’ve done so far, I’m pretty sure this was my favorite.

I used the $0.99 strawberries at Aldi, as well as a bag of sugar from Aldi and pectin at the grocery store. I briefly considered using raw sugar, but since this is my first try at anything like this, I figured I better play it safe. So I bought white sugar — something I’ve not done in months!

Make and Takes recommends using a food processor [1] to puree the strawberries, but I used the Vita-Mix instead. It worked well, except that the Vita-Mix does such a good job of puree-ing that my jam turned out really, really smooth.

The whole thing was so simple to make! I cannot believe I’ve waited this long to make freezer jam. And our entire family loved the end result.

The recipe [1] is definitely not low sugar, though, so I’d love to find a good freezer jam recipe that was a little healthier (anyone have one?). We’ve already used it on peanut butter sandwiches, served it on pancakes, and — dare I admit it? — eaten it plain.

All in all, making Strawberry Freezer Jam was every bit a successful experiment and I’m completely confident we will be making this again. If I’m able to find a source for inexpensive pectin, this would also be more cost-effective than buying jam at the store. Plus, it so yummy and fresh — and fun to make, too!

Have you tried any new do-it-yourself experiments recently? If so, I’d love to hear about them in the comments.

In case you missed it, here’s the list of the 12 Do-It-Yourself Projects I Plan to Try in 2011:

January: Make From-Scratch Chai Tea [3]

February: Make Homemade Dishwashing Detergent [4]

March: Make Homemade Hamburger Buns [5]

April: Make Homemade Laundry Soap [4]

May: Make Appliqued Flower Tee [6]

June: Make Homemade Hummus [7]

July: Make Strawberry Freezer Jam [1]

August: Make Homemade Soap

September: Sew a Rag Quilt [8]

October: Make Homemade Apple Butter [9]

November: Make Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day [10]

December: Make Homemade Marshmallows [11]


Article printed from Money Saving Mom®: http://moneysavingmom.com

URL to article: http://moneysavingmom.com/2011/07/do-it-yourself-experiment-6-homemade-strawberry-freezer-jam.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Strawberry Freezer Jam: http://www.makeandtakes.com/strawberry-freezer-jam

[2] 2011 Do-It-Yourself Experiments: http://moneysavingmom.com/2010/12/12-do-it-yourself-ideas-i-plan-to-attempt-in-2011.html

[3] From-Scratch Chai Tea: http://www.tammysrecipes.com/spiced_chai_tea

[4] Homemade Dishwashing Detergent: http://moneysavingmom.com/2011/02/2011-do-it-yourself-experiment-2-homemade-dishwashing-detergent.html

[5] Homemade Hamburger Buns: http://moneysavingmom.com/2011/03/do-it-yourself-experiment-3-homemade-hamburger-buns.html

[6] Appliqued Flower Tee: http://moneysavingmom.com/2011/05/do-it-yourself-experiment-5-applique-flower-tee-free-downloadable-petal-pattern.html

[7] Homemade Hummus: http://simplyrecipes.com/recipes/hummus/

[8] Rag Quilt : http://naptimecrafters.blogspot.com/2010/12/guest-post-rag-quilt-from-just-enough.html

[9] Homemade Apple Butter: http://moneysavingmom.com/2011/10/homemade-apple-butter-recipe-plus-free-printable-labels.html

[10] Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day: http://fivejs.com/how-to-bake-bread-teaching-life-skills-in-the-kitchen/

[11] Homemade Marshmallows: http://denverbargains.com/2010/12/how-to-make-homemade-marshmallows/

Copyright © 2009 Money Saving Mom. All rights reserved.